Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
Trauma Center: Under the Knife
Trauma Center: Under the Knife
Published by xfighter1138
03-31-2009
Author review
Graphics
60%60%60%
3
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
100%100%100%
5
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 92%
   
Trauma Center: Under the Knife

This is going to be one of my current gen reviews, dont expect a lot with them since I'm going to do Advent Rising after this and then do some of the games on this site. Maybe one day I will return to next gen reviewing. ANYWAY, this review will be longass, so prepare to read.

Trauma Center, is the first game to come out, in a very small niche genre that I had thought dead. If you can recall games like "Life or Death", then you will be right as home here...but there is a twist.

In Trauma Center, you are thrust into the role of Dr. Derek Stiles, who while being called a doctor, comes off aloof and unaware that, he is deal with life or death here, real people...and this, is where the game grows on you.

You will experience what Derek does, his ups, his downs, and you will experience what it means to truly play God, as Derek learns about his special ability. Taking a page from all good anime, Atlus has created a game where, the basis is quite simple, but by infusing you into situations that seem insane, and impossible, the game will push you to succeed, and ultimately, learn what becomes of Derek.

That is however just scraping the surface. Through the course of the game, you will not only deal with emotions, but with medical terrorism, and ultimately, Derek's "Gift". This game is good as is, but had the writing and characters been flat, it would not be interesting enough to keep playing. Fortunately, what you get here, is top notch presentation, and great dialoge.

Not to dive to deep into the story, as to spoil anything, but lets just say, if you think this is going to be ER with anime style characters, and 3D operations, think again.

This game proves why you need a touch screen, and why the concept works so well. As soon as you dig into this game, you will realize first hand, why this game will only be available on the DS, or a system with a touch screen. You will perform life or death operations, in 3D, and with the stylus, so every twitch you make, every wrong slice, will cost you dearly. However, it is the intense pace, and stylus, that make this game what it is.

Graphically, it works. It's nothing all that impressive, and while its about operating, the gore is kept to a respectable level...still, there are moments where you might cringe or go "eww". There are also moments when, you'll think your done, and then all hell will break loose. It is then, that you must learn to use Derek's special gift, and your own split second operating skills, to overcome what the game throws at you.

Simply put, it's intense. Trauma Center is an emotional rush, an addrenialine pack romp of playing doctor and learning the cost of human life, and above all else, a fun game.

So whats the verdict? If you have a DS, you have no reason not to own this game. After the storyline ends, you can go back to any of the operations, and try to beat your skill record. This is not easy, hence, to get the best rank for all operations in the game, you will need time. So the game has replay.

Aside from all this, it's that rare gem from Japan, that infuses two types of gameplay, and mixes them into a pot, with good gaming elements already found in the US, and comes out with a awe inspring tasty mix, that you won't want to put down.

Buy Trauma Center now, or miss out on what could be considered one of the best games of the DS.
Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 04-01-2009, 03:40 AM
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Trama Center: Under the Knife

Honestly I was on the fence and you just sold me. I don't have many DS games but I can see owning this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:15 AM
Member reviews
GraphicsN/A
SoundN/A
Replay valueN/A
ChallengeN/A
Tilt
20%20%20%
1
Average 20%
tanc24's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,213
tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.tanc24 intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.
Re: Trama Center: Under the Knife

Growing up as a kid, Life or Death was one of my favorite PC games. I didn't own it, but everytime I went to my buddy's house, I wanted to play it.

I remember the intensity to this very day, as you carefully cut into your patient and work to extract the appendix, spleen, or whatever the game threw at you.

I don't own a DS, but my nieces do. Looks like they might be misplacing their DS at Uncle Tanc's house for a week or two.

Good review, by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:33 PM
Chuck Norris's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Right behind you!
Posts: 405
Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.Chuck Norris intelligence, kindness, and good looks are blinding.
Re: Trama Center: Under the Knife

Dude you spelled Trauma wrong, lol great review, great game... I'm gonna review Second Opinion for the Wii
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:58 PM
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Trama Center: Under the Knife

I just noticed he spelled it wrong Fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2010, 06:34 PM
Member reviews
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
60%60%60%
3
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
100%100%100%
5
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 88%
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 6,007
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Trauma Center: Under the Knife

This is one of the most fun games I have played.
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS