Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
Super Mario World (NES)
Super Mario World (NES)
A pirated game that's actually... decent?
Published by ECInc2XXX
01-19-2010
Author review
GraphicsN/A
SoundN/A
Replay valueN/A
ChallengeN/A
TiltN/A
Average N/A%
   
Super Mario World (NES)

NOTE: Due to a few complications, the hand-held review will be changed to this pirated game review.


Super Mario World
Posted on 1/18/2010

Yep, I've been with the pirated games, a lot, don't blame me...I though I should get them over with...

Graphics: 3.5/5
For a pirated game, it doesn't look half bad. It's mostly looks like the SNES counterpart, which is actually amazing, though the color palette could've been better.

Gameplay: 2.5/5
The gameplay is the same thing as the SNES version, but due to cartridge limitations (i guess), they had to remove stuff in the game (for example, the giant Bullet Bill is removed, and it's replaced by 3 fireballs) and for some reason, they barely have any fireflowers or feathers, only mushrooms, that sucks (I don't understand why, SMB 3 had a lot of powerups, seriously). Also, the controls are kinda bad, a common thing for most pirated games, obviously, which kinda affect the gameplay. Other than that, the gameplay is actually decent enough.

Controls: 2.25/5
The controls are below average but, for a pirated game, it's way above most of them. Once again, the jumping is a little awkward, as it come stiff at times. But, meh.


Sound: 1/5
Well, this section is not one of the port's strong points, as it kinda tries, too much. Although the music is way better made than Sonic 1 for the NES, it's still not that good. I recommended muting the TV/Computer while, playing this.


Replay Value: 2/5
While it's not one of those games you'll be playing more than once, you'll only be playing this to see how the pirates make the port on the NES and what features stood and what features didn't. Also, only big fans of NES and/or Mario would be kinda recommended.


Overall: 2.25/5 = 55%
For a pirated game, it comes as close as decent. It shows the pirates actually giving some sort of effort. Even so, you might as well be playing either the SNES version or Super Mario Bros. 3 (both are way better)

NOTE: Maybe later on, I'll post a console/hand-held reviews! Sorry, people who enjoyed it.

2010 Eric Corp Incorporated

Image

Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 01-19-2010, 05:56 PM
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,038
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Stealing my console review idea Eric? (I know it's probably been done, but I was the first here and that I've seen.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2010, 05:59 PM
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 237
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam3ron36 View Post
Stealing my console review idea Eric? (I know it's probably been done, but I was the first here and that I've seen.)
What are you talking about? I've been think about console reviews since when I started getting retro gaming consoles (which is like 2007). I just been finding ways into making a review scale.

If so, because I didn't know you made a console review 'till I made one.

Sorry

EDIT: I also thought there should be more console reviews, rather than reviews of games (in my opinion)

Last edited by ECInc2XXX; 01-19-2010 at 06:03 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2010, 06:02 PM
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,038
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
re: Super Mario World (NES)

it's fine, i'm joking, just find it suspicious that last time i was here (yesterday) I made a console review. A few tips, just try and lengthen out your reviews, describe them, make some similes and add some more youtube vids and pics to demonstrate what you are talking about, have you read my reviews?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2010, 06:07 PM
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 237
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam3ron36 View Post
it's fine, i'm joking, just find it suspicious that last time i was here (yesterday) I made a console review. A few tips, just try and lengthen out your reviews, describe them, make some similes and add some more youtube vids and pics to demonstrate what you are talking about, have you read my reviews?
Thanks...though I'm not one of those people that are very descriptive in reviews.

NOTE: I recently checked out your review, and I liked it, nice job!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2010, 06:14 PM
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,038
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
re: Super Mario World (NES)

thanks, it was meant to be my biggest review of the year (I write for another site too). I enjoy writing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2010, 06:15 PM
samejamesbond's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yes!
Posts: 5,191
samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
re: Super Mario World (NES)

I'm glad you enjoy it because you do a great job.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:09 PM
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,038
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Yeah, but I've had a few bad reviews, that I haven't brought here... not bad, but not particularily good either, ones like my Wolfenstein review...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2010, 02:43 AM
Tails's Avatar
Forum lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Megatropolis
Posts: 15,574
Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
re: Super Mario World (NES)

I think yuor GCN was the best one you've done, others I couldn't care about.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:56 PM
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 237
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
re: Super Mario World (NES)

NOTE: This is not the "Sega Nomad (Handheld Review)" anymore, it is changed to "Super Mario World (NES)"

Please change the title.
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Review Review Starter Category Comments Last Post
Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars >> Super Nintendo CrispyChicken RU Games 10 07-12-2010 03:56 PM
Super Mario World yoshi_star10 RU Games 4 06-29-2010 07:49 AM
Super Mario All Stars + Super Mario World Chuck Norris Reviews 11 02-10-2010 11:29 AM
Furious Mario World Hack LunaAngelRose Chat 28 08-26-2009 12:06 PM
Super Mario World cheezewiz All Other Games 2 02-08-2009 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS