Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 489 USD (10%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2010, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
231 posts
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
View Stats
Level: 15
Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15
Level up: 73%
Level up: 73%, 81 Points needed Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Super Mario World (NES)

NOTE: Due to a few complications, the hand-held review will be changed to this pirated game review.


Super Mario World
Posted on 1/18/2010

Yep, I've been with the pirated games, a lot, don't blame me...I though I should get them over with...

Graphics: 3.5/5
For a pirated game, it doesn't look half bad. It's mostly looks like the SNES counterpart, which is actually amazing, though the color palette could've been better.

Gameplay: 2.5/5
The gameplay is the same thing as the SNES version, but due to cartridge limitations (i guess), they had to remove stuff in the game (for example, the giant Bullet Bill is removed, and it's replaced by 3 fireballs) and for some reason, they barely have any fireflowers or feathers, only mushrooms, that sucks (I don't understand why, SMB 3 had a lot of powerups, seriously). Also, the controls are kinda bad, a common thing for most pirated games, obviously, which kinda affect the gameplay. Other than that, the gameplay is actually decent enough.

Controls: 2.25/5
The controls are below average but, for a pirated game, it's way above most of them. Once again, the jumping is a little awkward, as it come stiff at times. But, meh.


Sound: 1/5
Well, this section is not one of the port's strong points, as it kinda tries, too much. Although the music is way better made than Sonic 1 for the NES, it's still not that good. I recommended muting the TV/Computer while, playing this.


Replay Value: 2/5
While it's not one of those games you'll be playing more than once, you'll only be playing this to see how the pirates make the port on the NES and what features stood and what features didn't. Also, only big fans of NES and/or Mario would be kinda recommended.


Overall: 2.25/5 = 55%
For a pirated game, it comes as close as decent. It shows the pirates actually giving some sort of effort. Even so, you might as well be playing either the SNES version or Super Mario Bros. 3 (both are way better)

NOTE: Maybe later on, I'll post a console/hand-held reviews! Sorry, people who enjoyed it.

2010 Eric Corp Incorporated


Last edited by ECInc2XXX; 09-03-2010 at 10:24 PM..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
5,047 posts
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 43
Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43
Level up: 91%
Level up: 91%, 139 Points needed Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Stealing my console review idea Eric? (I know it's probably been done, but I was the first here and that I've seen.)
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
231 posts
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
View Stats
Level: 15
Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15
Level up: 73%
Level up: 73%, 81 Points needed Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam3ron36 View Post
Stealing my console review idea Eric? (I know it's probably been done, but I was the first here and that I've seen.)
What are you talking about? I've been think about console reviews since when I started getting retro gaming consoles (which is like 2007). I just been finding ways into making a review scale.

If so, because I didn't know you made a console review 'till I made one.

Sorry

EDIT: I also thought there should be more console reviews, rather than reviews of games (in my opinion)

Last edited by ECInc2XXX; 01-19-2010 at 06:03 PM..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
5,047 posts
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 43
Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43
Level up: 91%
Level up: 91%, 139 Points needed Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

it's fine, i'm joking, just find it suspicious that last time i was here (yesterday) I made a console review. A few tips, just try and lengthen out your reviews, describe them, make some similes and add some more youtube vids and pics to demonstrate what you are talking about, have you read my reviews?
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
231 posts
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
View Stats
Level: 15
Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15
Level up: 73%
Level up: 73%, 81 Points needed Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam3ron36 View Post
it's fine, i'm joking, just find it suspicious that last time i was here (yesterday) I made a console review. A few tips, just try and lengthen out your reviews, describe them, make some similes and add some more youtube vids and pics to demonstrate what you are talking about, have you read my reviews?
Thanks...though I'm not one of those people that are very descriptive in reviews.

NOTE: I recently checked out your review, and I liked it, nice job!
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
5,047 posts
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 43
Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43
Level up: 91%
Level up: 91%, 139 Points needed Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

thanks, it was meant to be my biggest review of the year (I write for another site too). I enjoy writing
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
samejamesbond's Avatar
Regular Poster
5,192 posts
samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!samejamesbond has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 44
Points: 33,211, Level: 44 Points: 33,211, Level: 44 Points: 33,211, Level: 44
Level up: 51%
Level up: 51%, 739 Points needed Level up: 51% Level up: 51%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

I'm glad you enjoy it because you do a great job.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote

Remove Pootis
Old 01-19-2010, 07:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
5,047 posts
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 43
Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43 Points: 32,311, Level: 43
Level up: 91%
Level up: 91%, 139 Points needed Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

Yeah, but I've had a few bad reviews, that I haven't brought here... not bad, but not particularily good either, ones like my Wolfenstein review...
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 02:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Tails's Avatar
Forum lurker
15,648 posts
Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 62
Points: 103,897, Level: 62 Points: 103,897, Level: 62 Points: 103,897, Level: 62
Level up: 67%
Level up: 67%, 6,853 Points needed Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

I think yuor GCN was the best one you've done, others I couldn't care about.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote


Old 01-21-2010, 04:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
231 posts
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
View Stats
Level: 15
Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15
Level up: 73%
Level up: 73%, 81 Points needed Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
re: Super Mario World (NES)

NOTE: This is not the "Sega Nomad (Handheld Review)" anymore, it is changed to "Super Mario World (NES)"

Please change the title.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars >> Super Nintendo CrispyChicken RU Games 10 07-12-2010 04:56 PM
Super Mario World yoshi_star10 RU Games 4 06-29-2010 08:49 AM
Super Mario All Stars + Super Mario World Chuck Norris Reviews 11 02-10-2010 11:29 AM
Furious Mario World Hack LunaAngelRose Chat 28 08-26-2009 01:06 PM
Super Mario World cheezewiz All Other Games 2 02-08-2009 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS