Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 489 USD (10%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2010, 04:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
231 posts
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
View Stats
Level: 15
Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15 Points: 2,969, Level: 15
Level up: 73%
Level up: 73%, 81 Points needed Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

+1 (+1/-0)     
Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

Eric Corp Gamer's RU Exclusive Review 20
Sega Nomad (The Actual Handheld Review)


Huzzah! Today is my 20th Retro Uprising Exclusive Review! Yay!



Since it is my 20th review, this will be a special, reviewing the official Sega Genesis portable, known as the Sega Nomad, one of my reviews I've planned since January 19, 2010...



*SKIP THIS IF YOU DON'T CARE*



Before I review this, a little history on the planned review. Originally on January 19, 2010, I've reviewed this portable, but quickly I've received backlash from members for stealing the console review idea from Cam3ron36 (Nintendo Gamecube to be exact), which expressed disappointment. Because of this, I've changed the review to Super Mario World for the NES, one of my old reviews. I feel like I disappointed many members on so many levels because of this, and something I still regret for doing in the first place, and I sorry for people that I disappointed with my previous review of it. Now hopefully I'm making it up here...


Proof: http://retrouprising.com/video-games...w/t8596/?ltr=S



*SKIP THIS IF YOU DON'T CARE*



REVIEW



History:


I'm no good explaining the history of consoles so instead, here's this video:





Console Design: C


The portable seems to resemble the Game Gear, except it is wider, and more rectangular in design. Because of this, the system is much bulkier and becomes more awkward to handle (I can't really blame them, it's only 1995). The system also contains a 6-button controller built-in, which is a nice touch. The 6 buttons (A, B, C, X, Y, Z), the D-pad, and the MODE and START buttons works pretty well with the portable, though sometimes a bit awkward when you have to do combination of buttons (mainly fighting games, or doing cheat codes). However, the handles in the back feels comfortable, though sometimes not as much. In the middle of the system is the backlit screen, which it's rather useful and amazing at the time (though the Game Gear and the Atari Lynx previously had that too). Despite the back-lit screen, it does suffer from fast blur (the screen blurs when the game moves quickly) which can be kinda hard to see at times. One thing I found rather odd is the lack of a RESET button, which forces me to put back the settings and cheat codes (if I feel like it) every time the game froze or when I turn the game off. The CARTRIDGE INSERT has a problem that the cartridge when put in still sticks out like a sore thumb. However, I'll admit the inclusion of an A/V output is nice to use, and I prefer to use it over looking at the back-lit screen (unless there is no TV available). Another cool thing is the headphone jack, which is crisp and loud enough when we want to hear some of the best music on the Genesis, which there's an adjuster for the volume. There's also an thing which adjusts the back-lit screen, which I never seen that kind of thing until like the Game Boy Advance SP, about 7 years later. Weirdly, there's a Controller 2 port on the bottom of the Nomad, which seems cool when you are using the A/V output, but when using the back-lit screen, considered your 2-player attempts futile, as your hands get in the way for the second player, making things much harder than it needs to be. The back of the system also has a connector where you equip the battery pack or the empty pack (where you put 6 AA batteries in it, I'm dead serious). Also, people seem to criticize the inability to play Sega CD or 32X, but how the heck is that going to work on the Nomad? Explain that, people! Overall, the whole idea of a portable version of a console has potential, and it's decent in design, but it isn't perfectly executed.



Console Durability: B


The durability is pretty good, but it does have some problems. For example, the CARTRIDGE INSERT works pretty well without much problem, but has a drawback that the cartridge sticks out way too much. Because of this, the cartridge is much more easier to prone to freeze, forcing you to stay more still than you can normally do. This becomes more of a problem when you are playing Sonic 2/3 & Knuckles and/or using Game Genie etc.. The screen lens can easily break (not that mine did), mostly due to the bulkiness of the system, although there is replaceable lens available on the internet. Despite its flaws, the CARTRIDGE INSERT woks pretty well, as I barely have any problems trying to make a game work, and the buttons on the portable don't break off easily. Overall, it has pretty good durability, despite it's flaws.



Battery Life: F / D+


If people who gotten the empty pack where you need to get 6 AA batteries (not alkaline batteries, Ni-MH batteries, dead serious), and they only gives you about 2 to 3 hours using the system. However, using the rechargeable battery gives you about an extra half hour, and gives you the ability to use the AC adapter to play as long as you want. A huge improvement over the bare-bones empty pack which doesn't give you jack. While the rechargeable battery is better than the other, it still leaves a lot to be desired. The rechargeable battery can malfunction that the battery won't charge and you have to play with the AC adapter all the time. Overall, pretty sub-par, but unless you have a rechargeable battery with an AC adapter, stick with the Sega Genesis (Model 1 or 2, honestly Model 3 isn't worth it).



Sound: A


I'll have to admit, this is the only thing the portable did perfectly. Even without the headphones, it sounds really loud and crisp to hear as the stereo speakers used is amazing. It especially sound good when using headphones or speakers. I can't really explain much, but trust me.



Collector's Value: B


Mostly for people who are into the Sega Genesis, people who want to experience one of the first, or people who want to have fun in general.


Since it only sold about 1 million, prices on eBay generally cost about $70 or more (maybe as expensive as $200). If you're not into those, just stick with the Sega Genesis itself.



Overall: C+


The Sega Nomad is pretty decent, but only above average. Despite its flaws, it's worth it, when all the TVs are being used, and when you want to play 16-bit retro games (which is me and other people probably). Other than that, people who already has the system itself, I don't think it's that recommended, but it's worth a look.



Videos of the portable Genesis:









2010 Eric Corp Incorporated


Comments
  
 

Last edited by ECInc2XXX; 02-14-2011 at 08:07 PM..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
6,008 posts
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 33
Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33
Level up: 69%
Level up: 69%, 349 Points needed Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Activity: 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 

   
Re: Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

Umm... the Sega Nomad never existed, the review looks like it is for one of the Neo-Geo pocket consoles.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tails's Avatar
Forum lurker
15,648 posts
Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 62
Points: 103,897, Level: 62 Points: 103,897, Level: 62 Points: 103,897, Level: 62
Level up: 67%
Level up: 67%, 6,853 Points needed Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon-Mask View Post
Umm... the Sega Nomad never existed, the review looks like it is for one of the Neo-Geo pocket consoles.
Yes it is real, I can get one at the mall for 50 bucks if I wanted to.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote


Old 08-30-2010, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
6,008 posts
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 33
Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33
Level up: 69%
Level up: 69%, 349 Points needed Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Activity: 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 

   
Re: Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

I guess I was thinking of something else then.
Whatever, I don't care.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
StarfoxFan2009's Avatar
Butterscotch
2,943 posts
StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!StarfoxFan2009 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 29
Points: 12,786, Level: 29 Points: 12,786, Level: 29 Points: 12,786, Level: 29
Level up: 34%
Level up: 34%, 664 Points needed Level up: 34% Level up: 34%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Send a message via Yahoo to StarfoxFan2009
 

   
Re: Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

Trying to play a sports game on the nomad would be awkward for me...
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Kugyince's Avatar
Gao Gao Gao
Donor
Administrator
13,124 posts
Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 62
Points: 108,679, Level: 62 Points: 108,679, Level: 62 Points: 108,679, Level: 62
Level up: 90%
Level up: 90%, 2,071 Points needed Level up: 90% Level up: 90%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon-Mask View Post
Umm... the Sega Nomad never existed, the review looks like it is for one of the Neo-Geo pocket consoles.
I own one.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-2010, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
6,008 posts
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 33
Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33
Level up: 69%
Level up: 69%, 349 Points needed Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Activity: 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 

   
Re: Sega Nomad (The ACTUAL Handheld Review)

I realized my mistake, I must have been thinking of something else. With all of Sega's consoles that didn't sell well, it's hard to keep straight which ones were never released, and which ones sold so poorly that it was as good as if they hadn't been released. What with the two or so years it was in production in the states.
Only around one million were sold in the states, there was hardly any advertising, and I was two years old when it was released. I don't remember it. Unlike the game boy, or even the game gear, it is something I have never seen, and never even heard of more than a few brief mentions here and there.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nintendo DSI, the next nintendo handheld? CatalystiCam All Other Games 25 05-20-2010 10:05 PM
Super Mario World (NES) ECInc2XXX Reviews 9 01-21-2010 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS