Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
Retro Game Challenge
Retro Game Challenge
Experience the 80s...again!
Published by Normdogg
08-06-2010
Author review
Graphics
100%100%100%
5
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
80%80%80%
4
Challenge
80%80%80%
4
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 92%
   
Retro Game Challenge

Do you remember a time when gaming was but an emerging entity? Don't you wish to relive those days? Well, you are not alone. From indiezero and published by Bandai Namco comes a game that brings you back to those days.

This is the story taken straight from the manual: Having been utterly defeated by his friends in every current-gen multiplayer game, Arino longed to be a gaming master. His obsessive desire for complete dominance in the gaming world spawned a digitalized version of himself in his Nintendo DS. He came to be called "Game Master Arino," and he began to haunt gamers around the world with retro game challenges. you have been chosen for his all new game challenges from his home turf, the 80's!

The premise is simple, you must beat Arino's challenges in 8 different fictional games reminiscent of the NES/Famicom games of old. Each game is a different genre, such as space shmup, action, racing, and even an rpg. Each challenge is something different. For example, in Cosmic Gate, you need to beat stage 5. Another example, in Rally King, you need to drift boost twice.

However, before you think you can't figure something out in any of the games, here's the hook, line, and sinker. The game has a fictional monthly magazine, complete with a constantly changing editor, game news, cheat codes, and reviews! So if you have a hard time trying to beat a certain challenge, you may be able to use a cheat code or two for your advantage.

Now moving on to avoid a major wall of text as well as spoiling the fun any more, here's the breakdown.

Graphics: 5; I rated this a 5 because it perfectly copies the awesome 8-bit graphics from the NES / Famicom. It feels like a game you might have played and enjoyed back in the 80s.

Sound: 5; I rated this a 5 because the music and sounds are straight out of the good ole days. It adds to the nostalgia that this game offers very well.

Replay Value: 4; I rated this a 4 because some games are better than others, even though they are overall good. Some people may dread having to play through some games, but this is rectified by the Freeplay mode, which has all the games you unlock available for play outside the story mode. However, some codes do not work in Freeplay mode.

Challenge: 4; I rated this a 4 because even though the games are pretty tough (a retro gamers dream), most of the challenges are too easy to beat. However the final challenge, beating all of the games in their entirety, makes up for the easy challenges.

Final note: If you are a true retro gamer looking for a nostalgia trip, this is THE game for you. My final score is a 4.5/5
Image

Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 08-06-2010, 05:03 PM
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 6,007
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Retro Game Challenge

A pretty solid review, though it would be nice to see an image demonstrating the graphics, and maybe one or two videos demonstration the music.

Looks like a fun game, but I don't know if I could get past the idea of playing games made just to feel like old games. The old games are enough, and it would have been cool if they used some of the games which the inspiration for the fictional games were drawn.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2010, 09:26 PM
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Retro Game Challenge

Thanks for making this review I never knew this existed. It seems good and nostalgic while still being somewhat original, hard to do. I didn't see any clips for the RPG part but I found this video of the other gameplay parts-
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DdAUHM8MK4"]YouTube - ‪Retro Game Challenge Gameplay‬‎[/ame]


Btw it's only like 20 bucks, I think that's worth it. Too bad it seems like the sequel will never be released in the US do to poor sales of the first game.

Last edited by Dudebro; 08-06-2010 at 09:28 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2010, 08:50 AM
Member reviews
Graphics
100%100%100%
5
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
80%80%80%
4
Challenge
80%80%80%
4
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 92%
Normdogg's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Normdogg is the posterchild for noob
Re: Retro Game Challenge

Here's a video that shows more games from Retro Game Challenge.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5GS8SvcNAA"]YouTube - ‪Retro Game Challenge Trailer‬‎[/ame]
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Review Review Starter Category Comments Last Post
The Video Game Trivia Challenge! SSBBrawler Forum Games 157 08-16-2009 02:40 PM
The best Retro Light Gun Game? Kong All Other Games 11 11-09-2008 12:06 AM
Retro Game Awards Kong All Other Games 19 03-24-2007 09:20 AM
The Game Mod Challenge! Kugyince Closed Contests 92 02-19-2007 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS