Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
New play control 'Pikmin'
New play control 'Pikmin'
Published by CatalystiCam
04-03-2009
Author review
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
60%60%60%
3
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 88%
   
New play control 'Pikmin'

One of the only new games I like, I'm here to review Pikmin 'New play control'.

Now, I bought this game a week ago and haven't stopped playing it. I missed playing it since my brother pawned it for the GC, It's one of the newer games I like.

Graphics: For graphics, I loved the classic Pikmin look and the graphics fare off to be good for a Wii game, Not as good as the 360 or ps3 graphics, But I'll have to give this one a 4 in the graphics section. 4/5

Sound: Again, I love the classic Pikmin sound, It was the first Gamecube game I ever played and my favorite.
I don't see any improvement on sound from the Gamcube version although it might have better sound with the HD cables per say. Overall sound 5 because it has not improved but I love the classic sound since it gives me old memories.

Replay Value: To me, I can never get bored of this game, I play it through at least twice a year, But with the new controls... They haven't improved much, But I do find it easy to be able to point at whatever range I need to, And it is nice not to have my hands so close together on that small GC controller. 5/5

Challenge: Not much of a challenge to this game, It's mainly corny repetitiveness and you either lose big or win big, The hardest challenge I find is keeping each type of Pikmin above 100 with all the crazy wildlife they have, Like the poison shooting mushroom and the weird frog things... and of course, The classic red ladybug type things that just demolish the Pikmin if you don't attack it right.

I find that the areas in the games do get more challenging and those Pikmin traits come into play more and more with the water/fire hogs and the plain old water and of course, the fire gaskets, Still not much of a challenge to this game. 3/5

Overall: Now. Overall this game is awesome, Great for all ages, And personally, I love it.
For 30 bucks it's certainly worth buying unless you have the GC version, Then I'd just keep that

Not sure if I'm supposed to do a 'Here and Now' review, But I just had to review this game, When I get home I'll give reviews on games like:

Top gear 3000
E.D.F.
Dkc 1-3
Dk 64
Sim Ant

Enjoy my Pikmin Wii review.

Buy online: [ame="http://www.amazon.com/New-Play-Control-Pikmin-Nintendo-Wii/dp/B001CTL5GQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1240042372&sr= 1-1"]Amazon.com: New Play Control! Pikmin: Nintendo Wii: Video Games[/ame]
Image

Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 04-03-2009, 09:45 PM
laserboy1134's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 612
laserboy1134 is the posterchild for noob
Re: New play control 'Pikmin'

Work on spelling/ grammer, and review orginization, but over-all, nice review. I must confess, I'm much more into Nintendo's other franchises than Pikmin, but I may give this a shot after Batman: Arkham Assylum.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2009, 11:49 AM
Member reviews
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
60%60%60%
3
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 88%
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,038
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: New play control 'Pikmin'

I thought my grammar was fine?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:51 PM
Member reviews
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
60%60%60%
3
Challenge
40%40%40%
2
Tilt
80%80%80%
4
Average 72%
The Good Doctor's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: S. CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 339
The Good Doctor is the posterchild for noob
Re: New play control 'Pikmin'

i think i need a pikmin 3.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2009, 01:18 PM
Member reviews
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
60%60%60%
3
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 88%
CatalystiCam's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,038
CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!CatalystiCam has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: New play control 'Pikmin'

yeah, Same here.
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Review Review Starter Category Comments Last Post
The Control + V topic Tails Forum Games 100 05-27-2009 06:24 PM
Gamecube games get a New Play Control Some Dude X All Other Games 17 03-25-2009 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS