Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 489 USD (10%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2011, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
xtremelean's Avatar
Donor
62 posts
xtremelean is the posterchild for noob
View Stats
Level: 13
Points: 2,377, Level: 13 Points: 2,377, Level: 13 Points: 2,377, Level: 13
Level up: 84%
Level up: 84%, 73 Points needed Level up: 84% Level up: 84%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

First of all, I'd like to say my idea of making reviews of games was a really good, and had lots of potential. Second of all, I made the 'Honest Retro Uprising Gamer' to inform people in RU about games they should really play. Third of all, I'm really being honest about my playthrough's. Fourth of all, Thanks for reading my review.

As you can see above in the title, I reviewed 'Mighty Bomb Jack' for the NES. What can I say about this game? Well, for starters, it's pretty weak. Whenever you jump you go to the the top of the screen. I heard that if you hold up or down on the D-pad while jumping it changes the height and distance you travel while jumping. I don't know if this is true. I tried it but made little progress with it.

The graphics don't improve the game at all. I don't even know if Jack is human or not. There's so many wierd creatures. I don't know what they even resemble. There's a bird, skull, fireball, and some kind of creature that looks like a turtle shell. See, it's because of the graphics I can't even tell what most of the enemies are.

Another thing that makes the game horrible is the glitches. The glitches in this game are out of control. It's a never-ending glitchfest. There's enemies spawning inside the walls, the ceilings, the floor, and even platforms. If you jump so high in the air, there's a 60 % chance that you will get stuck in the floor because you fall so high down. You know, I thought the creators of this game would make corrections to the gameplay. But I guess they were so lazy and so drunk that they weren't able to make corrections. They just let it be, they let it be the horrible game it is.

The story is about you going into the pyramids to fight an evil monster called BELZEBUT. But this story doesn't help the cause. It's so vanilla and bland, I mean, there's always a villian and hero fighting each other. I don't want that, I want variety and best of all, great gameplay. But Mighty Bomb Jack is just the complete opposite of all of this. It proves no challenge. There isn't any boss fights at the end of each level. Just collecting bombs, then more bombs, then some mighty coins, then some more bombs, and, god. This is getting boring. All you do for the rest of the game is collect bombs and mighty coins. It would be better if we were given some kind of weapon. Well, there is one. Some kind of circle that turns every enemy into mighty coins. But there's a timer. Why is there a timer? It should just affect the enemies that are in the screen. Not the whole level. Because of this, there's a timer. But why should there be a timer when this could obviously just be used as a simple weapon! Also, there is a coin that has the little picture of a dark face in it that will increase the number of amounts you can change... your color. That's right. Just tap the B-button then you can change your color! This has no point. It only helps progress. The B-Button should only be used for weapons! Not silly color changing.

The game is so annoying. There's enemies that spawn everywhere. One time I was near the door to the next room, then a swarm of enemies just spawned there. I was thinking: "What do I do now?" This spawning system is just famous for doing this. Because of this. You can't finish the game. To be honest, I got to level six.

This game is untouchable, I would choose vomit over this game. This game is just so unspeakable. I wish I could just go back in time to prevent this game from spawning. Don't buy it, don't give it a try, don't look at it. This game will be forever bad.

Overall Rating: F.

Comment your perspective and look out for a new review. Remember, always look at the bold, italic writing in my review for a hint based on the game I will review. Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed.

Last edited by xtremelean; 01-17-2011 at 12:06 AM.. Reason: No rating, No image.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
6,008 posts
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 33
Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33
Level up: 69%
Level up: 69%, 349 Points needed Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Activity: 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

Your review was alright, but I feel I must tell you something: there is a section just for reviews.
I must say though, I disagree with your position on this game as terrible, I found it fairly enjoyable. That's the beauty about reviews though, you can state what you felt about a game.
Reviews - Retro Uprising
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tails's Avatar
Forum lurker
15,648 posts
Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 62
Points: 103,897, Level: 62 Points: 103,897, Level: 62 Points: 103,897, Level: 62
Level up: 67%
Level up: 67%, 6,853 Points needed Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

Bomb Jack is fun.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2011, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thunderlips's Avatar
Regular Poster
163 posts
Thunderlips is kissing everybody's bum just rightThunderlips is kissing everybody's bum just rightThunderlips is kissing everybody's bum just right
View Stats
Level: 17
Points: 3,772, Level: 17 Points: 3,772, Level: 17 Points: 3,772, Level: 17
Level up: 81%
Level up: 81%, 78 Points needed Level up: 81% Level up: 81%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

I owned this game on my NES as a kid. Having the manual I understood the controls better then you seemed to grasp from playing it cold. Jack can jump at any height, he can even hover left or right losing altitude slightly. The controls are not difficult once you understand them. The colour changes have significance. Blue means you can open the locked treasure chests by jumping on top of them. Gold means you can now open those chests by running sideways through them, (a huge advantage actually) Green as you discovered gives you all the powers of the previous colors but turns enemies into coins for a time. The end of each stage is a level resembling the original Bomb Jack game instead of a Boss. There a tons of secrets in this game. If you play linearly you will miss the best parts of the pyramid and you will not be able to unlock the final door and finish the game.

This game provides a great challenge, the enemies are relentless and unpredictable but the tools at your disposal make it possible. I did finish this as a kid but I cant remember all the secrets needed anymore that was 21 years ago. I'm sorry you hated it so but I think some gamers on here would enjoy it.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
xtremelean's Avatar
Donor
62 posts
xtremelean is the posterchild for noob
View Stats
Level: 13
Points: 2,377, Level: 13 Points: 2,377, Level: 13 Points: 2,377, Level: 13
Level up: 84%
Level up: 84%, 73 Points needed Level up: 84% Level up: 84%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderlips View Post
I'm sorry you hated it so but I think some gamers on here would enjoy it.
It's okay. But you shouldn't be sorry about how much I hated it. That's the beauty of a review. It shows the person's perspective and view of the game. You should be proud of what you think of the game. Nobody hates what you say.

---------- Post added at 05:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon-Mask View Post
Your review was alright, but I feel I must tell you something: there is a section just for reviews.
Thanks for the 'alright' comment about my review. And also, thanks for telling me about the section just for reviews. But, I don't feel like moving all my work into another section. I wrote my review here because this section is about RU games, and I'm writing about RU games. Thanks for telling me about this, but I don't plan to moving my work just yet. If something happens that has to do with this idea, then I'll do it.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
stevencassidy13's Avatar
Regular Poster
11,093 posts
stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!stevencassidy13 has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 60
Points: 66,582, Level: 60 Points: 66,582, Level: 60 Points: 66,582, Level: 60
Level up: 62%
Level up: 62%, 3,868 Points needed Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

I think we have another case of a gamer being manipulated by another review he might have read. The game is decent.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
kong on Bronies:

"Of the 75% that are straight I would bet at least 10% would rather have a cheeseburger than a girlfriend."
Old 01-16-2011, 12:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Demon-Mask's Avatar
funk wizard
6,008 posts
Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Demon-Mask has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 33
Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33 Points: 17,301, Level: 33
Level up: 69%
Level up: 69%, 349 Points needed Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Activity: 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

Quote:
Thanks for the 'alright' comment about my review. And also, thanks for telling me about the section just for reviews. But, I don't feel like moving all my work into another section. I wrote my review here because this section is about RU games, and I'm writing about RU games. Thanks for telling me about this, but I don't plan to moving my work just yet. If something happens that has to do with this idea, then I'll do it.
Select all of the text, right click, select copy, go to review section, click "Create New Review" {or whatever}, right click in text field, select paste. Give a name to the review, select scores in the different categories {optional}. Maybe state that you would like this one removed somewhere within the review, click "Post Review" {or whatever}. Not much work, if you ask me.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
xtremelean's Avatar
Donor
62 posts
xtremelean is the posterchild for noob
View Stats
Level: 13
Points: 2,377, Level: 13 Points: 2,377, Level: 13 Points: 2,377, Level: 13
Level up: 84%
Level up: 84%, 73 Points needed Level up: 84% Level up: 84%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon-Mask View Post
Not much work, if you ask me.
I know that. But it feels much more easier if I just do my work here. As it says in the description for RU games, it says: Manuals, cheats, walk-throughs, reviews, and other discussions for just Retro Uprising games. So because of that fact, I'm doing my work here. Is that okay with you?
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kugyince's Avatar
Gao Gao Gao
Donor
Administrator
13,124 posts
Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
View Stats
Level: 62
Points: 108,679, Level: 62 Points: 108,679, Level: 62 Points: 108,679, Level: 62
Level up: 90%
Level up: 90%, 2,071 Points needed Level up: 90% Level up: 90%
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 

   
Re: The Honest Retro Uprising Gamer - Mighty Bomb Jack - #1

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremelean View Post
I know that. But it feels much more easier if I just do my work here. As it says in the description for RU games, it says: Manuals, cheats, walk-throughs, reviews, and other discussions for just Retro Uprising games. So because of that fact, I'm doing my work here. Is that okay with you?
No. Thread moved. Future reviews are to be placed in the Review section. If posted elsewhere I'll just delete them.

You were right in that the RU Games section is labled wrong. It will be changed.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retro Uprising's Top 100 Demon-Mask All Other Games 16 08-01-2010 02:54 PM
Spectrum Analyzer: Bomb Jack Robot Scoop 0 07-11-2010 08:00 PM
Retro Uprising Franchize Chat 6 11-18-2009 06:10 PM
Retro Gamer here ralph79 Introduce Yourself 7 02-16-2009 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS