Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
Game Informer
Game Informer
It's actually good, but not as good as Nintendo Power.
Published by ECInc2XXX
01-23-2010
Author review
GraphicsN/A
SoundN/A
Replay valueN/A
ChallengeN/A
TiltN/A
Average N/A%
   
Game Informer

Eric Corp Gamer's RU Exclusive Review 5:

Game Informer (as of Mar. 2010 issue)

Well, my first gaming magazine review. Sadly, I only have issues from July 2008 to onwards and I'm still subscribed to GI so, I can't really compare the old like 1990s and early-mid 2000s with the new but, I can b/w the old Game Informer (2000? - 2009) and the new Game Informer (2009 - ).

Covers:
Old GI: A
New GI: B-

Well, let's start with the gaming covers, compare the old one with the new one.


You can notice that the inFAMOUS cover looks way better than the GTA III cover (I really had the one with Half-Life 2 in it). The new GI covers are close as okay but kinda lacking to me. However, they are some positive notices with the new GI issue covers. For example, the November 2009 issue looks really awesome (to me), look:


It looks pretty good for a GI redesign issue. Also, they are improving on the pictures on January and February 2010 issues, but it doesn't retain the same eye-popping text like the old GI, did!

The Inside of GI:
Old GI: B+
New GI: B


Sadly, I can't really show the insides of GI, because that will take forever.

While both designs are good for a gaming magazine series but, the logo of the new GI is disappointing. Also, the new logo, when I first read about the new look, on the October 2009 issue, I was like "WTF"? What were they thinking? Why in the world did they change the GI logo, I mean it looks really awesome.

The Comparison b/w Old GI and New GI in the insides of both GIs:

NOTE: I don't wanna spoil the issues so, I telling my general opinion on it.
REVIEW SCALE:

Section: Old GI grade/New GI grade (old GI info / new GI info)

Staff: B (not much, but nice to know more about the staff) (old GI only)
Feedback: B (similar to the old GI's Dear GI) (new GI only)
GI Spy: C+ (never understand what it's about, but good pictures) (old GI only)
Dear GI: B (I mostly like when they ask questions about old games, others are okay) (old GI only)
Connect: B+/B (the voting, topics, and such is a cool way to know more about video gaming / the design of this section is kinda dumb compared to the old GI)
Gear: A/A+ (since I'm a computer maniac, I liked this a lot / the new GI had improved it a little by reviewing more gears than they did at the old GI)
Opinion: B/B (I barely read these, but when I do, they are interesting to hear / same as the old GI but...well that's it)
Calendar/Timeline: B+/B (nice to know the date of the upcoming games / same thing, but the design is not as good)
Big Previews: A+/A+ (lots of information, lots of pictures = good for me/ a little better, as the pictures are much clearer than it was)
Previews: A/A+ (not as much info and pictures are shown, but cool to know some amazing coming out later in the year/next year / the previews seem much bigger than they was in old GI, which is nice to see)
Photophile: B+/B+ (even less pictures and info but, still nice to look at / samey as the old GI)
Reviews: B-/B (pretty good but, I do have some complaints about the reviews in the old GI, for what I mean, they sometimes give good games, bad ratings and bad games, get good ratings, which is weird / they have slightly improved with both design and ratings, but still not an A)
Charts: C- (meh, nothing much other than sales of games and, it's only for people who is willing to add up the sales) 0
Secret Access: A (nice to know some cheat codes, but I highly doubt the person will have it at the time of the issue) (old GI only)
Classic GI: A+/A+ (my favorite of GI, they tell some interesting stuff about games back then, is cool / still my favorite of GI, but sadly they removed the retro gaming reviews (even before GI's new design))
Game Over: C/C+ (didn't see much about point about this, other than video game trivia / they are little more by topics in trivia like "First-Person Shooter Trivia")

Overall: B+/B
In conclusion, Game Informer's not that bad...it's actually an amazing gaming magazine. Nowhere as good as Nintendo Power, but it fares out being an great series of video gaming magazine.

COMING SOON! What I think about GI's Top 200 Games of All Time? Well, it's coming soon!

2010 Eric Corp Incorporated
Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 01-23-2010, 02:06 PM
Slime Slayer's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11,164
Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Slime Slayer has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Game Informer

nice, reviewing the magazines. i like it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2010, 06:12 PM
ECInc2XXX's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 237
ECInc2XXX play's well with othersECInc2XXX play's well with others
Re: Game Informer

Thank you, stevencassidy13! This is only my first of reviews on gaming magazines. Look forward to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2010, 07:59 PM
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Game Informer

Yeah this is an interesting concept but it's hard to visualize if you never read the magazine. I like the epic Disney cover art, I assume that's for Kingdom Hearts?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2010, 10:47 PM
Kugyince's Avatar
Gao Gao Gao
Donor
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 13,084
Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Game Informer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudebro View Post
Yeah this is an interesting concept but it's hard to visualize if you never read the magazine. I like the epic Disney cover art, I assume that's for Kingdom Hearts?
It says the name of the game it's for right on the cover, Epic Mickey.

Wii-exclusive to be released in 2010.

( Click to show/hide )




Last edited by Kugyince; 01-24-2010 at 10:49 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2010, 01:42 AM
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Game Informer

I thought epic mickey was in reference to KH before it was released or something. I don't pay much attention to disney stuff.
That being said this does look pretty epic. It's surprisingly dark and surreal looking.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2010, 10:29 AM
Winnebagel's Avatar
IS THE CHEESIEST!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A Little South of Sanity
Posts: 5,607
Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Winnebagel has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Game Informer

Very good review EC. I get a new subscription (as do many people I'm sure)when I renew my Game Stop discount card every year, and G.I. magazine is a surprisingly good magazine.

I agree it is not quite up to Nintendo Power or I think EGM's standard, but still good nonetheless.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2010, 12:32 PM
Tails's Avatar
Forum lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Megatropolis
Posts: 15,574
Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Tails has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Game Informer

Sonic Unleashed featuring Mickey Mouse?
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS