Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
Frankenstein - The Monster Returns
Frankenstein - The Monster Returns
It's okay, but it has it's flaws.
Published by ECInc2XXX
11-20-2009
Author review
Graphics
60%60%60%
3.0
Sound
60%60%60%
3.0
Replay value
40%40%40%
2.0
Challenge
80%80%80%
4.0
TiltN/A
Average 60%
   
Frankenstein - The Monster Returns

My review will be different....so, let's begin

GRAPHICS: 3
The graphics are okay, the sprites and backgrounds are decent...but, nothing blows me away. However, for Bandai standards at the 8-bit era, it's way better looking.

GAMEPLAY: 4
The gameplay is basically a sidescroller...with you killing enemies... Nothing special here, but I do like this kind though, so I boosted it up 1 score.

SOUND: 3
It's alright. The music and sounds aren't really top-notch, but I've heard worse.
*Cough* Dr.Jekyll and Mr.Hyde *Cough*

CHALLENGE: 4 (actually 4.5)
It's actually decent in challenge...but, some of the bosses are just unbelievable...
Some of the bosses are pretty easy, some are just annoying, some are just ridiculous (without the "L" Bars).

REPLAY VALUE: 2
It's just one of those games that you only want to play at least once a year.

OVERALL: 3
Frankenstein - The Monster Returns is way better than most Bandai games at the time...but it's as close as okay. Play it if you wish, but expect to be annoyed with the bosses.

- EC Gamer 11\20\2009
Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:22 AM
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Frankenstein - The Monster Returns

So this game sounds like it's mediocre but it has some cheap bosses? Thanks for the warning I'll know to avoid it now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:41 AM
RU Joe's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Posts: 4,906
RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!RU Joe has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Frankenstein - The Monster Returns

This game has an appeal most NES games had:
they were tough, but they were also very entertaining in the early days of the home console.
(this is the kind of game I would rent all the time)

The great difficulty only serves to increase the sense of satisfaction we got when finally getting to the next level of the game.

Frankenstein has an appeal all retro games do as the ancestors of modern titles on today's consoles.
I can't get past stage 1, but that won't stop me from playing it, and having fun despite a lack of progress.
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Review Review Starter Category Comments Last Post
Monster Hunter! TrakMastaTom All Other Games 30 09-03-2010 11:14 AM
Chronico Returns on 4/20! XERQ GRANITE Introduce Yourself 10 04-27-2009 08:29 PM
Batman Returns ~ Sega-Master-System Kong RU Games 1 09-05-2007 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS