Retro Uprising
Donation Goal
Goal amount: 5000 USD, Received: 569 USD (11%)
Donate Now
When we reach the current donation goal all software on Retro Uprising will be replaced with a new superior method for playing games online that will support all browsers, play many more games and consoles and fix errors in existing games. This will be a massive site upgrade. The largest in our history. Please help us reach our goal as soon as possible.

Retro Uprising relies on donations from users like you! List of Donors

Register to enable more features such as high score recording.


Go Back   Retro Uprising > Video Games > Reviews

View Poll Results: Next Review
1943 2 66.67%
Super R Type 0 0%
Super Mario Kart 1 33.33%
Super Mario World 0 0%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Comment
 
Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
Abadox  Nintendo
Abadox Nintendo
A very unique game
Published by EJT2012
04-01-2009
Author review
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
40%40%40%
2
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
80%80%80%
4
Tilt
80%80%80%
4
Average 76%
   
Abadox Nintendo

Abadox is another of the games I had never heard of before being introduced to this site. It's not a game that is seen very often, yet it still rises to the top of my list of favorite sidescrollers. Now we will venture deep into the heart of the game to find out what makes it so thrilling, and sometimes addicting, in the mind of gamers.

GAMEPLAY:
Abadox is a futuristic space shooter that uses both side-view and top-down perspectives. As the last remaining captain of the fleet, your goal is to fly into a monster and destroy it from the inside. Things that try to slow you down and kill you are items such as captured spaceships, parasitic worms, and even anti-bodies from the space monster's immune system. The bosses are very odd beings, one of which being a half digested dog, and most of them being organs and body parts of the monster itself.

GRAPHICS:
The graphics on this game are very in-depth for a game of its age. The first boss is a half digested dog, and has very detailed parts. The colors are variant and unpredictable, which can keep the attention of the player. They blend together in a way that is very unusual for a game on the NES system at the time. So, I believe this game deserves a 4 out of 5 for its graphic appearence.

SOUND/AUDIO:
The sound on Abadox is not entirely loveable. The sound effect that the weapon makes when fired is sometimes obnoxious and irritable. The music is not necessarily a catchy tune and it continues to loop until you reach the boss at the end of the level. Thanks to its extremely annoying weapon effects and its looping music, I give the sound of this game a 2 out of 5.

REPLAY VALUE:
Abadox, like Astyanax, is a very addicting game. After you have played and beaten it once, it never gets boring and you can continue to play it. All that really changes is that it gets a little easier every time. I have beaten it about eight times, and still find it fun to play. With that in mind, I award the Replay Value of Abadox a 5 out of 5.

CHALLENGE:
Despite having beaten the game a few times, it still is quite a challenge. No matter how much you are expecting it, some of the surprise cells and little monsters that attack you from below and headon, can be tough to handle at times. I always seem to have quite a bit of trouble on the last level. I give the challenge on this game a 4 out of 5.

OVERALL:
Thanks to a good score in Graphics, a below average score in Sund/Audio, a perfect Replay Value score, and an awesome score in challenge, I award Abadox a 4 out of 5 overall score. This game will remain as one of the greats of all time in my mind, and hopefully in yours as well.

NOTE:
Please select an option on the poll at the top of the review to help me make a descision on what to make my next review on. The faster I have an answer, the longer I can play the game and think of the rating I will give it. Thank You.

Play online: Abadox Nintendo
Featured Reviews
Read more
Big Red One

Frontline FPS action
  #1  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:23 PM
xfighter1138's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 121
xfighter1138 is the posterchild for noob
Send a message via AIM to xfighter1138
Re: Abadox

Very well done review. Is there going to be a poll again for what to review?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2009, 07:09 PM
Member reviews
Graphics
60%60%60%
3
Sound
60%60%60%
3
Replay value
20%20%20%
1
Challenge
100%100%100%
5
Tilt
60%60%60%
3
Average 60%
Kugyince's Avatar
Gao Gao Gao
Donor
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 13,084
Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Kugyince has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Abadox

The graphics and sounds were average for the Nintendo. Challenge gets an automatic 5 because its very unforgiving to the new player. I'd give the replay a 0 if I could. Not even an options screen let alone a difficulty setting, why come back to it after you beat it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2009, 09:31 AM
Member reviews
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
40%40%40%
2
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
80%80%80%
4
Tilt
80%80%80%
4
Average 76%
EJT2012's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 249
EJT2012 is the posterchild for noob
Re: Abadox

I dont know, I just really like this game.

Last edited by EJT2012; 04-02-2009 at 03:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:47 AM
Member reviews
GraphicsN/A
SoundN/A
Replay valueN/A
ChallengeN/A
Tilt
100%100%100%
5
Average 100%
Dudebro's Avatar
MY TITLE IS RED!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melmac
Posts: 26,030
Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!Dudebro has earned the ear of the admin. Watch yourself!
Re: Abadox Nintendo

I fixed a few typos for you otherwise it looks good. After reading through it I wanna try this game, I guess the review worked.

Btw I haven't played this game so I wasn't gonna vote. It made me vote on tilt so I gave it a 5 from how you guys describe it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2009, 09:25 PM
Member reviews
Graphics
80%80%80%
4
Sound
40%40%40%
2
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Challenge
80%80%80%
4
Tilt
80%80%80%
4
Average 76%
EJT2012's Avatar
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 249
EJT2012 is the posterchild for noob
Re: Abadox Nintendo

Sorry, guys, no more reviews for a while (lots of sports and stuuf such as that goin on lately......)
Reply With Quote
Comment
Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Review Review Starter Category Comments Last Post
Nintendo DSI, the next nintendo handheld? CatalystiCam All Other Games 25 05-20-2010 09:05 PM
Best Nintendo Hero SSBBrawler Chat 65 02-26-2009 11:35 PM
Nintendo!!! fedor All Other Games 10 11-08-2008 08:10 PM
Nintendo Wii (Revisited) Tekkaman All Other Games 205 07-07-2007 07:16 AM
Abadox Kugyince Closed Contests 18 01-29-2007 03:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

vBulletin® ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. » vBadvanced CMPS